How the story was born

EverlandsChronicles_Cover_Medallion_Digital_V1.1

Early 2011 I had a dream, it repeated for a few nights, that I considered strange. but I loved the dream regardless.

I pictured a woman in full armor fighting in a battle and defeating all foes. I watched change from Armor to Gown and vice-versa. I watched her fall in love, get hurt and heartbroken then be filled with hope again. Finally, one day at work I decided to write the dream on sticky notes. That was crazy, I would write for a minute here and there, then bring the sticky notes home and type it all in word in the middle of the night.

Then I figured how to use my phone to write in two different apps Catch and Evernote, both allowed me to type a quick note, email it to myself and then copy and paste into my word document. That was the best thing ever! I no longer had to use the sticky notes and hope I would not lose my one or two ideas of the morning, before I was able to develop them at night.

A few months later I had 150,000 words into the story and I felt I could go for another 100,000 more, so I did. I kept on writing in the middle of the night. By the beginning of 2012 I had written all four books for this series. And started to work on a new series, but that’s another story.

Out of all my characters in The Everlands Chronicles, only John and Richard stayed true to their name since day one. There was no Everlands, but Middlands, and Elle originally went from Kahlan, Kayla, Kay to Elleanora. There were no Chronicles but Tales, and the The Truth is short for the original The Truth will set you free.

With the encouragement of some friends who read the first manuscript I decided to pursue the  publishing dream. Here are some of the thoughts my friends thought of the rough-unedited-first draft.

“I just wanted to tell you I am seriously impressed.  I am really enjoying it and feel like I am already invested in the characters.. I have tried to write one myself and I know how hard it is and yet I have still failed.. but, well what you have done is nothing small.  It isn’t about what I assumed it would be (thought it would have a spanish twist)  but anyway..thanks.hope your new year is excellent and includes a book contract!” CS

“I read it this time. Sorry it took me so long. Jessica, I am really impressed. I think you did a great job of grabbing my attention right away….and that is not an easy thing to do. I enjoyed the story line and didn’t want it to end.  The main things I saw that needed correcting, will be correct through editing. With that said…they still did not take away from the story itself. It was not predicable. You have  a great story, and yes I would buy the book.” J. B.

“Here is my honest opinion:  I find the story interesting and would read a completed version based on what I have already read.  I am an avid reader and I think that your chapters show promise. Obviously, there is a lot of cleaning up to do.  Your dialogue is at times awkward, but that is fixable. I am not a professional editor, but I do read a lot of fiction similar to what you have written and would be happy to provide more advice, notes, etc. I would love to read the rest of your manuscript!  Understanding that this is obviously not a finished draft, I am very impressed with the story so far.  I hope you’ll send me the rest of your book. I wish you the best of luck! I am very serious about my offer to read the rest and offer criticism (and compliments, of course!)” L.G.

And now the million dollar question, have you read The Everlands Chronicles yet? What are your thoughts? If not, get your copy here!

 

2 thoughts on “How the story was born

  1. Inspiring. I’m aiming to publish my work too though I’m translating and not thinking up the story lines myself like you (which is like wow!). The genre’s the same though – an epic fantasy – and that’s why I came here via the ‘sword fighting’ tag. I read the review on amazon and got really interested, but the price of the paperback’s steep where I am, so I guess I’ll have to wait till it goes down. I hope it will. Fingers crossed.

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment. Writing these series was amazing to me. I have written smaller pieces and attempted to write a novel in spanish that I have yet to complete. Taking it one step at the time. Lol. I love writing and write pretty much anything that comes to mind, some people like it, other don’t, but i have learned to stop listening to them regardless and just go with the flow.
      I will continue to post more things i find interesting about my journey through The Everlands as the second book is being worked for publication. I am so excited!

      Like

Leave a Reply

